It’s all about the bass (and treble)

There’s no denying that Meghan Trainor’s “All About The Bass” is insanely catchy. I admit and confess to doing a little dance in my car every time I hear it on the radio. I however don’t agree with the lyrics. If this song is meant to be about loving your body and seeing yourself as perfect (no matter what) – then why are the lyrics so one-sided?

In my spare time I have been working on some alternative lyrics that can be enjoyed and appreciated by ladies of all body types. Step aside Meghan!

“All about the bass (and treble)”

Because you know I’m all about that bass,
‘Bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass (and treble)

Yeah it’s pretty clear, I might be a size two
But I can still shake it, shake it like I’m entitled to
‘Cause I got that smile smile that all the boys chase
All the right awesomeness in all the right places
I see the magazines working that Photoshop
We know that shit might not be real
Come on now, make it stop
If you got true beauty beauty just raise ’em up
‘Cause every inch of you is perfect
From the bottom to the top
Yeah, my momma she told me don’t worry about your size
She says, boys they like all kinds of booty to hold at night
You know I won’t be no perfect idea of a women that you’ve made up
So, if that’s what’s you’re into
Then go ahead and move along

Because you know I’m all about that bass,
‘Bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass (and treble)

I’m bringing all kinds of booty back
Go ahead and tell all of the bitches Hey
No, I’m just playing I know you think you’re not pretty,
But I’m here to tell you that,
Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top
Yeah, my momma she told me don’t worry about your size
She says, boys they like all kinds of booty to hold at night
You know I won’t be no perfect idea of a women that you’ve made up,

So, if that’s what’s you’re into
Then go ahead and move along

Because you know I’m all about that bass,
‘Bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass (and treble)

Because you know I’m all about that bass,
‘Bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass (and treble)

Because you know I’m all about that bass,
‘Bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass, and treble
I’m all ’bout that bass, ’bout that bass

And trebbbbblllllllllle

~

All body types should be celebrated. Media, memes and memoirs should be about embracing what the “greater powers” gave you and making the best of it.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

